Managing user access to Pexip Control Center

Pexip Control Center (PCC) is the platform we're developing to bring the admin and analytics tasks for all users — company admins and users — into one place.

Compared to the existing tools, PCC allows more granularity in terms of what users have access to, and more flexibility in terms of who can configure access. In this way it enables users to be given the appropriate level of access for their job. It also lets company administrators manage access for their own users.

Please note all users need an active Pexip Control Center User License before they can access PCC.

Understanding roles

Roles are used to determine what a user can do and for which organizations.

  • Viewer role:

    • Gives the user read-only access to organization data.
    • Allows the user to launch the Activate Endpoint app to activate/provision compatible hardware video endpoints.
  • Admin role:

  • Global Admin role:

    • Provides all of the permissions of the Admin and OTJ Admin roles, plus the ability to grant roles to other users.
  • Admin (legacy) role provides the same access as the Admin role but is automatically assigned by the system to:

    • Users whose company administrator role was granted via the Partner Portal or the Pexip apps.
    • Users who manage team rooms.
    • To revoke or grant the Admin (legacy) role, the user's access must be changed using the Pexip apps, or by your partner.

  • OTJ Admin role gives the user the ability to view and edit the One-Touch Join settings for a company (if they also have the Admin role for that company), and to enable One-Touch Join for individual video systems.
  • OTJ Viewer role gives the user the ability to view (but not edit) the One-Touch Join settings for a company (if they also have the Viewer role for that company), and to view (but not edit or download the macro for) the One-Touch Join settings for individual video systems.

Note that all standard users with a Pexip Control Center User License have a Member role by default and can log in and view their own personal usage and account details.

What users with Global Admin role can do

As a user with the Global Admin role, you can grant roles to other users. You can grant a user the equivalent or less access than you have yourself, but you cannot give them more access than you have yourself.

To grant a role to a user, you need:

  • Viewer role for the company to which the user is subscribed. This enables you to view the user's company.
  • Global Admin role for the company to which the user is subscribed.
  • Viewer role for the target organization i.e. your company.
  • Global Admin role for the target organization.

Changing a user's roles

These steps show you how to change the roles a user has for their own company i.e. the company where they are subscribed.

  • First you need to find the user you want to edit and go to their Roles page. (If you don't see the option to edit roles, i.e. you can only view the current roles, it means you don't have the Global Admin role for your company.)
  • The roles page confirms the company the user is subscribed to i.e. their main organization, and the roles they currently have.
  • You can change the selected roles, and apply your changes, as shown.
  • There are no automatic email notifications, thus you need to let the user know about their new role.

That's it!

Inactivity

Users who do not log in to their Pexip Service user account for a long time will eventually lose their access:

  • After 150 days of inactivity, an email reminder is sent to the user, and then further reminder emails 2 weeks and 3 weeks later, if necessary.
  • After 180 days of inactivity, the account is deactivated and an email is sent to the user confirming this.

A user is considered active if they log in to PCC, MMV, or the Outlook add-in, or use their personal VMR within a 6-month period.

Access logs

In Settings > Access logs, you can view information about the changes made by users in the PCC. The log data includes:

  • Local Time: The time according to your device when the change was made or attempted.
  • Event: The event or change that was made by the user.
  • Device/Browser: The device and browser used to make the change.
  • User: The user who made the change.
  • IP address: The IP address of the user's device.
  • Status: Whether the change was successful or failed.

By default, the last 90 days of logs are shown but you can adjust the time range from the drop down.

Access logs page