Managing meetings using in-call controls

When you're in a call there are various things you can do to manage your video experience. The Pexip apps offer the most features, and there are some limited controls you can use from telephones and SIP/H.323 endpoints that support dial tones (DTMF).

Pexip apps

Some of the features are only available to the room owner, as indicated below. Any keyboard shortcuts are also indicated where available.

Feature and keyboard shortcut How to use itFeatures and how to use them

Start presentation

or p to present / share your screen

Start Presentation

Here's how to share your screen with others in the meeting:

  1. Select .
  2. Choose what to share:
  3. If your VMR window partially collapses, you can still see controls to stop the presentation, restore the window, mute the mic, or disconnect.
  4. To stop sharing, select .

You can also:

  • Select either the VMR room or the shared screen to make it the main window (which doesn't halt the screen-share).
  • Select and drag the VMR room window to prevent it from blocking your view of the presentation.

Dial pad

or press any number 1 - 9 to send that number and open the dial pad

Dial pad

When joining a VMR that only has host PIN set, you enter the lobby straight away and an audible prompt invites users with a host PIN to enter the PIN. If you have the host PIN, go to the dial pad and enter it. This admits you and anyone waiting in the lobby into the VMR and you can start the meeting ahead of the room owner joining.

When joining a VMR that has both host and guest PINs set, you see a prompt to enter a PIN and join the meeting. Note that, if you have joined the VMR using a guest PIN, you can't subsequently enter a host PIN using the dial-pad. In such a situation, disconnect from the call and re-join with host PIN.

Full screen on/off

or f to toggle

Full screen on/off

You can switch full screen on and off using this button. Another way of toggling is by double-clicking somewhere in the app.

Display chat

Display chat

Select Display chat and the messages pane appears where you can view and enter messages during the call. You can use it to share links or help others with mic issues, for example. To retain privacy and confidentiality from one meeting to the next, each participant sees only those messages posted after they joined a room, so messages can be seen by all participants currently in the VMR.

Float window on top on/off

Float window on top on/off

This feature lets you fix the Pexip desktop app window in front of all other windows, meaning that if you select another window you keep sight of the Pexip desktop app window and the video meeting you're in.

Device settings

Device settings

During the call, you can change which devices you're using but not the call quality setting. To change that you need to exit the meeting and rejoin.

Lock room *

Lock room *

For extra security, after all invitees have joined a call, room owners and company administrators can choose to lock the room. After the room has been locked, anyone who tries to join the VMR sees a message and can't join. We currently have a feature in beta-release that allows VTC systems to enter the lobby of a locked room where they can enter the host PIN to join the meeting or just wait to be let in.

Invite someone by dialing *

Invite someone by dialing *

  1. From the top right corner select the icon.
  2. For each internal contact or VTC system, type their name at the prompt and select next to the matching entry.
  3. For each external participant enter a valid format of video address and select .
  4. Select Dial to immediately invite the added person/VTC system to join you in your VMR.

Saving and retrieving external video addresses.

Invite someone by sharing a link *

 

Invite someone by sharing a link *

  1. From the top right corner select .
  2. Select Share link to the room.
  3. Select Copy link if the recipient(s) will join via browser, and then send the link via your preferred method.
  4. Select Advanced room info if the recipient(s) may use one of the other methods. Select Copy to place the instructions on the clipboard, and then paste and send the link via your preferred method.
  5. Alternatively, to use a local email client, select Invite by email to send the full joining instructions via email directly from the app.

Show participants

Show Participants

From the top right corner select to see a list of participants currently in the meeting. (This feature is available immediately if the room you're joining has no PINs, otherwise it is available after a host or room owner has joined.)

Copy Advanced room info *

Copy Advanced room info *

From the top right corner select and then select menu. Select Advanced room info and you can now paste the full joining details into an email, for example.

Mute a participant's microphone *

Mute a participant's microphone *

  1. From the top right corner select to see a list of participants currently in the meeting.
  2. Find the participant whose mic you want to mute and select the adjacent mute microphone button .

Disconnect a participant *

Disconnect a participant *

  1. From the top right corner select to see a list of participants currently in the meeting.
  2. Find the participant you want to disconnect and select the adjacent disconnect button .

Mute all *

Mute all *

  1. From the top right corner select to see a list of participants currently in the meeting.
  2. Select Mute all.

Disconnect all *

Disconnect all *

  1. From the top right corner select to see a list of participants currently in the meeting.
  2. Select Disconnect all and you are prompted to confirm.

  3. Select Disconnect all again. This disconnects all participants.

Mute/Unmute microphone

or m to toggle

Mute/unmute microphone

From the toolbar below the main video window, select Mute microphone and others can no longer hear you, but you still hear them.

Select Unmute microphone and other participants now hear you speaking again.

Disconnect from call

Disconnect

From the toolbar below the main video window, select Disconnect. This disconnects you immediately.

Disable/Enable camera

or c to toggle

Disable/enable camera

From the toolbar below the main video window, select Disable camera. Other participants can no longer see you, but you still see them.

Select Enable camera and other participants can see you again.

Hide self-view / Show self-view

or s to toggle

Hide self-view / Show self-view

Hover your mouse over the self-view window and the Hide self-view button appears.

Select Hide self-view and the self-view window is replaced by which you can select if you want to re-instate the self-view window.

Re-position self-view

Re-position self-view

Select the self-view window and drag it to a different place on your screen. This can be useful when someone else is presenting.

* After logging in, this feature is available to personal VMR room owners and company administrators.

* After logging in, this feature is available to personal VMR room owners and company administrators.

Keyboard Shortcuts

When using the Pexip desktop app or Pexip web app, the following keyboard shortcuts are available.

You can select:

  • p to present / share your screen

  • any number 1 - 9 to send that number and open the dial pad

  • f to toggle full screen on/off

  • m to toggles your microphone on/off

  • c to toggles your camera on/off

  • s toggles your self-view on/off

Using dial tones on telephones and SIP/H.323 endpoints

Host participants using telephones or SIP/H.323 endpoints that support dial tones (DTMF) can control aspects of a conference by using their keypad.

The DTMF controls that can be used within a Pexip conference are:

DTMF keys Control
*7 Toggle conference lock and unlock.
*5 Toggle mute and unmute all guests.
*3 Terminate the conference (disconnect all participants including yourself).