Managing users (members) within a company

Company administrators can use the company administration options within the Pexip app to manage the users (also referred to as members) within their company that use the Pexip Service.

To manage your company's users, select the menu in the top-right corner of the Pexip app and select Company administration.

This opens a new page that lists all of the existing users within your company. From here you can edit the details of existing users and add (invite) new users.

If you don’t see the Company administration option, you have not been set up with administrator rights. Please contact your company administrator or your account manager at your local certified Pexip Partner to grant you access.

This page also lets you maintain the team rooms and video systems within your company.

Configuring a user's details (video address, personal VMR, video system etc.)

From within the Members tab you can search for and select a user to edit by clicking on the user's Name. This opens a User page where you can configure their details.

You can configure the following settings for the user:

Option Description
Profile
Full name The user's name. This also acts as the user's display name — the name that is shown to other meeting participants and in the directory.
Email address The user's email address. Their invitation to the Pexip Service will be sent to this address, and they can also use this for signing in to the Pexip app.
Video address

The user's personal video address e.g. alice.parks@example.com that can be used for direct dialing to that user (to call them via their Pexip app). If the user also has a video system (hardware endpoint) then the same video address can be associated with that endpoint.

Their Video address also acts as their Username that they can use for signing in to the Pexip app.

You can modify the name portion of the address (which also changes their Username), but you cannot change the domain portion after the user has been created.

Meeting room (personal VMR)
Room name The name of the user's personal VMR as it will appear in the directory. All users automatically get a personal VMR.
Room video address

The video address of the user's personal VMR. Typically this is the user's personal video address with a .vmr suffix, e.g. alice.parks.vmr@example.com.

You can modify the name portion of the address, but you cannot change the domain portion after the user has been created.

Host PIN
Guest PIN

Host and Guest PINs are optional and provide security controls over who can access the VMR, and who can start a meeting in that VMR.

Optionally, you can automatically assign a host PIN to all personal VMRs, see Setting host PIN on all personal VMRs.

Video systems
Subscription details

This shows the details of any endpoint subscriptions associated with the user.

Each endpoint subscription has a link to Activate subscription on endpoint which opens a new page where you can download the endpoint activation app that enables you to activate the endpoint and register it to the service. Note that this link is always displayed, even if the subscription is active and the endpoint is registered.

Typically the video system will have the same personal video address as used to contact the user via their Pexip app.

Print QR code

The Print QR code option allows you to print the QR code associated with the endpoint. This is used by the MeetingConnect feature that allows an endpoint to join meetings simply by scanning its QR code with a smartphone.

To add an endpoint subscription, please contact your account manager at your local certified Pexip Partner.

More
Access rights Allows you to set the user as an Administrator or as a standard User (shown as an Account type of Member on the Members tab).
Send password reset Sends the user a password reset email.

See Company video addresses and personal/team VMRs for more information on how your video addresses are structured, and the differences between a personal and a team VMR.

Inviting people (adding users/members)

Select Invite people to add new users/members. You get three options:

  • Invite one person
  • Bulk invite (via CSV file)
  • See pending invites to your company

When inviting users (single or bulk), the system shows how many licenses (EULs) are remaining and open for use. Each new user requires a single EUL.

When a user is created, they are automatically assigned a personal VMR video address as well as a direct dial video address.

An activation email is sent to each new user and they must complete the instructions within that email to complete the activation of their Pexip account.

Inviting one person

  1. You are requested to enter the user's details:
    • Full Name: this also acts as the user's display name — the name that is shown to other meeting participants.
    • Email address: the address to which their invitation to join the service will be sent.
    • Video address: this is their personal video address, and is also their username.
    • Role: select either Member (a standard user) or Admin (a company administrator).
  2. Select Invite. This sends an activation email to that user.

Bulk invitations

You perform a bulk invitation by uploading a .csv file of user details.

  1. You can either select the CSV file or drag and drop it onto the upload area on the Bulk invite screen.

    Here is an example of the required format for the .csv file, showing sample data. Note that the delimiter must be a semi colon.

    name;email;username
    John Doe;john.doe@test.com;john@test.com
    David Smith;david@test.com;david@test.com

    This example .csv file can be downloaded from User-Import-Example.csv.

  2. You are shown a list of the users contained within the file.
  3. If everything is OK, select Yes, invite <n> users.

    This loads all of the users and sends an activation email to each user.

Note that:

  • The usernames in the .csv file must not be less than 6 characters prior to the “@” symbol. This restriction does not apply to companies that have purchased domain hosting.
  • All users added in this manner get a Role of Member.
  • Partners can perform this task for their end users but will temporarily need to assign a customer’s EUL to themselves.

Managing pending invites

Clicking See pending invites to your company displays any pending invites — these are the invites that have not yet been activated by the user.

From here you can select one or more invites and then either select Revoke Invitation or Resend Invitations.

Deleting users

To delete a user:

  1. Select the Members tab.
  2. Tick the box next to the user(s) to be deleted.
  3. Select Delete.

Note that deleting a user also removes their personal VMR.