Logging in and getting ready

If you've already activated your subscription (and, optionally, installed your preferred app) you can log in and get ready for your first call. Logging in gives you full access to all the features your personal VMR has to offer. Here we cover logging in and configuring settings for all of the Pexip apps.

All of the apps allow a user to join a Pexip meeting without logging in, so they can be used by external participants who don't have a Pexip account. See also Help for external participants joining meetings.

Logging in

To get to the log in page:

  • For the Pexip web app either:
    • open your browser and go to https://pexip.me
    • or if you already loaded your own VMR from a previously saved link/bookmark, go to menu in the top-right corner and select Log in.
  • For all the other clients open the Pexip application/app on your computer, tablet or mobile phone.

Log in credentials

To log in you need your registered email address or your username (also called personal video address), and the password you created during activation, unless your organization uses Single Sign-On (SSO).

You can find your username/personal video address by opening the Welcome to the Pexip service email that was sent to you following registration. Depending on how your organization is set up, it's possible that your username/personal video address may be the same as your email address *.

At the Login page, enter your credentials. If you tick the Keep me logged in option, you stay logged in. If you're logged in when you join your own VMR, guests are admitted into the meeting as soon as you join. Also, being logged in means you can manage participants and lock the room.

In the desktop and web apps, after logging in, you see that your own VMR is selected by default. You can always check which VMR is selected by reviewing the VMR name and video name at the top-left corner of the main pane.

Choosing devices and defaults on the desktop or web app

If you have more than one camera, mic or set of speakers connected to your computer, the desktop and web app clients let you change which devices to use. You can also change the default settings for how you join calls.

Choosing devices and call quality

Your computer's default camera, speakers and mic are selected by default but you can change these. Select the Settings cog and go to Quality/Device settings.

If prompted, select Allow to grant permission for the client to use your camera and mic.

As well as choosing which devices to use, you can check that the configured devices are working. You can also change the call quality, if required. Call quality can be set to high, medium or low and you can change it any time you're not in a call. Changing the call quality adjusts the bandwidth so you can better match the call to your current data connection which helps to achieve a more consistent connection.

Setting defaults for joining calls

You can configure your camera and mic to be switched on or off when joining a call. This means when you open a VMR your camera and mic will be disabled initially, but you can still change your mind before joining a call/meeting and switch either one or both of them on.

To set the defaults, go to the icon and then App settings.

Choosing defaults for the mobile apps

  • You can disable (mute) your camera or mute your mic by default, and still change the settings before or during the call.
  • You can ensure that you always receive direct calls from others, when the screen is locked or the app is in the background.
  • You can also change the call quality, if required. Call quality can be set to high, medium or low and you can change it any time you're not in a call. Changing the call quality adjusts the bandwidth so you can better match the call to your current data connection which helps to achieve a more consistent connection.

To change these settings, go to the menu and then select Settings and then scroll down to the Call defaults section.

The mobile apps keep you logged in for your convenience. You can log out but if you do you won't be able to receive calls. To log out go to the menu. Select Settings and scroll down to Log out.

Android app permissions

In addition to joining with full video and audio, or audio only, the mobile apps let you dial in to calls via the standard telephone network (PSTN) and you can join meetings on VTC systems using a QR code.

When you first access any of these features the app requests your permission to use your camera, microphone, or phone as below:

  • Video calls: "We need access to your camera and microphone to make a video call".
  • Audio calls: "We need access to your microphone to make an audio call".
  • Audio call (Dial-in): "We need to be able to start phone calls on your behalf to dial in".
  • Video system (Scan QR code): "We require access to your camera to scan QR codes".

As well as permission requests from the Pexip apps, you see a second message from Android itself. The Android message usually starts ‘Allow Pexip to’.

The selected features rely on access to the requested resources, so to continue select Ok or Allow.

Rest assured that we use your data solely for the purposes of providing you with the service, and you can check here for the Pexip privacy policy and Pexip terms of service.